HOW TO FILE AN APPEAL TO THE
OHIO SIXTH DISTRICT COURT OF APPEALS
The general rule is that a notice of appeal must be filed within 30 days. There are exceptions which could lengthen or shorten this time, so you should consult an attorney or the Ohio Rules of Appellate Procedure for your exact situation.
To file an appeal, you will need:
1. A notice of appeal (with a copy of the judgment you are appealing attached),
2. A completed praecipe form,
3. A completed docketing statement form, and
4. $150 as a deposit for costs in the court of appeals. The trial court can assess an additional fee. Contact the clerk of court for the trial court in which your case was decided to see if that court will assess an additional fee. The costs deposit may be waived in certain circumstances. See 6th Dist.Loc.App.R. 7(B) for information on when costs are waived.
Forms for the notice of appeal, praecipe, and docketing statement are online at www.co.lucas.oh.us
. Once on the website, choose "Court of Appeals" from the dropdown menu under the "Government" tab at the top, then click on "Forms" on the left side of the screen.
The rules you must follow in this court are:
1) Ohio Rules of Appellate Procedure
2) Local Rules of the Sixth Appellate Judicial District
These rules are available in any law library or online at www.co.lucas.oh.us
. Once on the website, choose "Court of Appeals" from the dropdown menu under the "Government" tab at the top, then click on "Rules" on the left side of the screen.