About Concealed Carry
Lucas County Sheriff’s Office
1622 Spielbusch Ave.
Toledo, Ohio 43604
Regular Office Hours Are: 8:30 a.m. til 3:30 p.m., Monday thru Friday
Note: Ohio’s Concealed Carry Law has changed effective March 23, 2015. Please refer to the Ohio Attorney General’s website for details at (www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov)
The following information is being provided so as to give citizens guidance in applying for a Concealed Carry Permit in Lucas County
DO NOT BRING YOUR FIREARM TO THE LUCAS COUNTY SHERIFF’S OFFICE
- You must be at least 21 years of age, and first obtain a certificate of training issued by a certified instructor. (The total time required for training is 8 hours with a minimum of 2 hours of in-person training that consists of range time and live-fire training.) THIS TRAINING IS NOT OFFERED BY THE LUCAS COUNTY SHERIFF’S OFFICE. To locate a class, check with local sporting goods stores, gun shops, clubs, college, etc.
- Insure the instructors offering the weapons training have certificate of training from a national gun advocacy organization or Ohio Police Officer Training Academy and are certified as instructors to teach firearms training. Ask to see their credentials and certification.
- Upon successful completion of the training and receipt of a firearm’s training certificate (valid for three years from the date of issuance) from the training entity, you must obtain a “CCW APPLICATION FORM” and the “OHIO CONCEALED CARRY LAW PAMPHLET” as prepared by the Ohio Attorney General’s Office. The forms should be made available to you where you obtained your weapons training or on line at: www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov
- Only one applicant will be processed at a time. Your completed application, documentation and method of payment will be reviewed for completeness and accuracy. Your fingerprints will be captured through the Web check (Electronic Fingerprint) system and sent electronically to the Bureau of Criminal Investigation and Identification for a background check. If you have not been a resident of the State of Ohio for the past 5 consecutive years your fingerprints will also be submitted electronically to the FBI. Your photo will also be taken for your CCW License (you are still required to supply the photo for your application). If the Web-check (Electronic Fingerprint) system is unavailable, or we are unable to successfully capture your fingerprints, we will Ink Roll your fingerprints on a fingerprint card specific for CCW and mail them to BCI/FBI for submission. (This may delay the response time)
- You must provide all required documentation (listed below) to conduct the required background investigation by the Sheriff’s Office. You must also pass federal NICS (National Instant Criminal Background Check System) check to obtain an Ohio Concealed Carry License. The required NICS check is not done at a licensed gun dealer. Within 45 days after you application is processed you will then be notified by phone the issuance of your CCW License. If you should have any questions about something that you believe to be in your background you should contact an attorney prior to applying. (See the Eligibility Guidelines)
You will be contacted by certified return receipt mail, to advise you if your application has been denied and the reason for the denial.
“IF YOU CANNOT PURCHASE A GUN FROM A FEDERALLY LICENSED GUN DEALER, YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO OBTAIN AN OHIO CONCEALED CARRY LICENSE.
In the Attorney General’s publication, “CCW “stands for “ carry a concealed weapon” and refers to the Ohio license to carry a concealed handgun pursuant to Ohio Revised Code Section 2923.1225. The publication is a summary of prevailing firearms and self defense laws and may be updated without notice. It is not intended to be a substitute for the advice of a lawyer of common sense. The Revised code is available online and also may be found at law libraries and some public libraries. Citizens are encouraged to read the law themselves and use that publication as a guild.